Welcome to Eigeralp

In the summer months we have a herd of 30 dairy cows as well as heifers, calves, goats and chicken with us in the Alps. From our herd we receive about 30,000 litres of milk and produce nearly 3 tonnes of Alpine cheese every summer.

People and animals live in close proximity in the traditional huts in the region. The sturdy roof beams and hand-hewn supporting timbers add to the charm and cosy appearance of these huts. Our huts had been built in 1892 and our cheese hut in the 17th century. As everywhere else in the world, the modern age has had some influence on the life in the Alps too. But it’s important to us to preserve the original character of these huts, since they are an integral part of the alpine heritage.

Our artisan cheese is based on a traditional recipe and is made from raw milk in a large cauldron over an open fire. The herbs in the Alpine pastures give the cheese a unique flavour, which is currently enjoyed by connoisseurs both in Switzerland as well as in Paris. We produce a variety of cheeses and Alpine butter.

Press Coverage

March 1, 2016 – Live Like a Swiss Alpine Cheesemaker for a Weekend and get a taste of life in the Alps without the commitment.

extended information

Awesome. I have it.

Your couch. It is mine.

Im a cool paragraph that lives inside of an even cooler modal. Wins

×

Härzlich Willkommen bin dr Eigeralp

Wir von Eigeralp, das sind die Sennen Dres und Michael sowie 27 Milchkühe und 35 Rinder, einige Kälber, Geissen und Hühner. Während des Alpsommers melken wir von unseren Tieren etwa 30’000 Liter Milch und produzieren knapp 3 Tonnen feinen Alpkäse.

Mensch und Tier leben eng beieinander in den traditionellen Hütten dieser Region. Ihr romantisch-heimeliges Aussehen verdanken die Alphütten auch der Tatsache, dass die Dächer und einige Aussenwände mit klassischen Holzschindeln gedeckt sind. Die Hütten wurden 1892 erbaut und unser Käsespeicher stammt noch aus dem 17. Jahrhundert. Wie überall auf der Welt ist das moderne Zeitalter auch an uns nicht ganz spurlos vorübergegangen, aber trotzdem ist es uns sehr wichtig, den ursprünglichen Zustand unserer Alphütten zu bewahren.

Unseren Rohmilch-Alpkäse produzieren wir nach altem Rezept in einem grossen Kessel über der offenen Feuerstelle. Die würzigen Kräuter der Alpwiesen geben dem Käse ein einzigartiges Aroma, an dem sich mittlerweile auch Feinschmecker bis hin nach Paris erfreuen. Ausserdem verarbeiten wir die Milch zu Mutschli, Ziger, Raclettekäse und Alpbutter.

extended information

Awesome. I have it.

Your couch. It is mine.

Im a cool paragraph that lives inside of an even cooler modal. Wins

×